Donuts with Mexicans

Games, jets, and ass

In the 80’s, when game consoles first came out, somebody in the Reagan administration responded to concerns that a generation of kids was growing up without really knowing what real competition or social interaction was all about. Whoever it was observed that in fact, that generation was developing superior hand-eye coordination that would someday be useful in piloting jet aircraft in defense of the U.S.

So my son’s been playing Air Hockey on the iPad. I have assumed he too was developing superior hand-eye coordination that will, at the very least, make a ton of money in virtual air hockey tournaments. So I was not concerned.

Last night, I played my 2-year-old son old-timey Air Hockey, the way I learned it. I crushed him. I would have skunked him, if I hadn’t resorted to faking a failed defense on a couple points, just to make him feel better. But make no mistake, I crushed him.

Superior hand-eye coordination, my ass.

Thanks for stopping by, now won't you leave a comment, please?

